You Must Now Be 21 To Buy Cigarettes and Tobacco
Texans have known a change to tobacco laws were coming, and now they are in full effect. Passed back in April, Senate Bill 21 set to raise the legal age to buy tobacco products to 21 years old by September 1st. The only exception to this new law is active military members. The new law includes not just cigarettes, but also e-cigarettes and any other tobacco products.
“Increasing the age to purchase tobacco products in Texas to 21 will not only improve public health and save countless lives, it will save Texans billions of dollars in health care costs,” Lt. Governor Dan Patrick said.
Texas becomes the 16th station to raise the minimum age for purchase and use of Tobacco products to 21. The aim of the new law is to further strengthen the efforts to keep tobacco and cigarettes out of public schools. In Texas, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids reports that nearly 12% of high school students smoke traditional cigarettes and around 19% use e-cigarettes.
Anyone under the age of 21 caught using tobacco products, faces a fine of $100. Any person caught selling tobacco products to someone under the age of 21 faces a Class C Misdemeanor which includes a fine up to $500.