On March 2nd, 1836, Texas became an independent republic.

Texas has a long history of changing hands. If you've ever wondered what the "six flags of Texas" stand for, it is the number of countries that had sovereignty over Texas at some point. And that is all after Native Americans battled each other for the unsettled land.

Texas was colonized by Spanish conquistadors in the 1500's. France also laid claim to the state, creating a settlement near the Gulf as a way of expanding their territory in Louisiana. However, that was unsuccessful. Then, when Mexico became independent from Spain in 1821, they incorporated Texas into their country.

So, now we have three flags: Spain, France, and Mexico.

Texas declared its independence from Mexico on this day in 1836. Fifty-nine delegates gathered in Washington County, north of Houston, to sign the Texas Declaration of Independence.On April 21st of the same year, Texas fought its final battle against the Mexican army at San Jacinto. This battle ended the Texas Revolution and granted the Republic full independence.

David Burnet was named the first president of the Republic of Texas. Stephen F. Austin, the "Father of Texas," served as Secretary of State. He died after only two months on the job.

It was ten years before the United States gave Texas its statehood.

But wait, that's only five flags!

Don't forget that Texas was part of the Confederate States of America in the 1860's.

There is a little history for your Texas Independence Day. God Bless Texas!

More From KISS FM 96.9